Why do we need a strong support system?

A support system is like a backbone in one’s life. A strong support system will be with someone close to you who is able to take that extra step with you.


Have you ever wondered what would your life be without any support. Let us imagine you need support: from-
1. Your Parents/ Caretaker- During School days/College days/ Working days
2. Your Parents/ inlaws – After marriage
3. Your Parents/inlaws/ caretaker/ self – For Your children
4. Your children/ caretaker/ spouse – Once old

Support may come in different forms:-
1. Monetary – From Family/ Financial institutions
2. Moral – From Family/ Friends/ Meditation
3. Spiritual – At a religious place

Few months back I noticed a gulmohar plant in our garden. It had grown 3.5 feet tall and had two buds. The weight made it stoop down. My husband noticed it and just inserted a stick in the ground for support. The very next day I saw blooms in the tree. I was all smiles that such a small gesture can make so much if a difference to a plant then how much more to humans. 

Everything is cyclic and completes a full circle. I am thankful to my granny, my mother, uncles , aunts, caretakers, my inlaws, friends, teachers, peers,employers, colleagues, religious and neighbours who have been a source of ongoing support in my life.

Like few climber plants would need support against a tree or a money plant on a moss stick even humans need a strong support system to make ones life comfortable. Once we get that support we can give it back to others who have helped us/ those in need.

Moral – I choose to be selfless and help others today because someone helped me when I needed it the most. 

Leave a comment